This project has moved and is read-only. For the latest updates, please go here.

Eigenvalues / Eigenvector

Nov 13, 2014 at 8:00 PM
Edited Nov 13, 2014 at 8:59 PM
Hallo all,

I looked into Math.NET for usage in my Research. More specific I am looking for a library that can compute the Eigenvectors and Values of medium (500+) matrices. I need this for graph matching and graph drawing. My background is Architecture with a little bit of knowledge in programming and math but unfortunatly not enough to understand all the problems of the implementation of algorithms calculating eigenvalues/eigenvectors. The aim is to use graphMatching within the field of Architecture for the generation of layouts.

I have had a quick look into the .evd() function and it works better than other libraries I have looked at. But a few questions have poped up about the outputs:
  1. Laplacian Matrix
    All publications read so far on Laplacian matrices asure me that the resulting eigenvalues should be equal or larger than 0 for a symetric matrix. (e.g. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Laplacian_matrix)
    However with a spares matrix of 553*553 enteries the smallest Eigenvalues is given with -1.
  2. Different outputs for the same Matrix
    If have checked the outputs for the following laplacianMatrix with different libraries (MATH.net and Wolfram Alpha):
    [ {4,-1,-1,-1,-1},{-1,4,-1,-1,-1},{-1,-1,4,-1,-1},{-1,-1,-1,4,-1},{-1,-1,-1,-1,4}]
    This is the Laplacian Matrix of the K5 Graph.
This will output the Eigenvalues of 0, 5, 5, 5, 5.
The Eigenvector for the Eigenvalue 0 will be the same in both cases but the other Eigenvalues do not match at all.

What did I miss? + as fare as I understand Eigenvalues / Eigenvectors are aproximated in some cases how can I handle the error.

Thx for any help,

Best Richard