This project has moved. For the latest updates, please go here.

Solving Ax=B in visual basic

Nov 22, 2012 at 4:47 PM

Hei.

I've been facing a problem while trying to solve a Ax=B matricial system on my VB project. I used to program in Fortran and solve that problem through DGESV LaPack routine, but since I'm new in VB programming I cant seem to get a clue about how to do it.

Thanks in advance, any help would be much appreciated.

Nov 23, 2012 at 7:42 AM
Edited Nov 23, 2012 at 7:42 AM

Hi,

Not VB, but this how you'd do it in C# (from the examples project). DGESV uses LU decomp, so the equivalent would be:

// Solve next system of linear equations (Ax=b):
 // 5*x + 2*y - 4*z = -7
 // 3*x - 7*y + 6*z = 38
 // 4*x + 1*y + 5*z = 43
 // Create matrix "A" with coefficients 
  var matrixA = new DenseMatrix(new[,] { { 5.00, 2.00, -4.00 }, { 3.00, -7.00, 6.00 }, { 4.00, 1.00, 5.00 } });

// Create vector "b" with the constant terms.
 var vectorB = new DenseVector(new[] { -7.0, 38.0, 43.0 });

// 1. Solve linear equations using LU decomposition
 var resultX = matrixA.LU().Solve(vectorB);

Nov 30, 2012 at 1:40 AM

Hi cuda, thanks for your help!

I followed your example (programming in VB ofc), although when using this LU decomposition, I run into a series of NaN (not a number) results. I've been debugging this project (all the "pre-system-solving" code) using an old example I had programmed in Fortran. Both the A matrix and the B vector are similar to the ones of the so called example, although LaPack's DGESV seems to be capable of solving it, but this one does not. Any thoughts ?

Thank you in advance, once again. 

Nov 30, 2012 at 6:10 AM

Could you post your A matrix and B vector here so I could test a couple things? or e-mail them to me at marcus@cuda.org.

Thanks,
Marcus 

Dec 6, 2012 at 6:59 PM

Hi. Sorry for the delay. I've finally managed to put the solving function to work, it was my error on the elements' calculations...