This project has moved. For the latest updates, please go here.

ARPACK Support?

Aug 5, 2011 at 10:14 AM

Hello.

I am very interested in using ARPACK (large sparse matrix eigenvalue problems) together with Math.NET Numerics. Would this be feasible to integrate? I am considering implementing this myself, as I have some experience using ARPACK from managed code. Perhaps you could recommend how it is best to go about doing this? Would a managed wrapper along with the other native wrappers (e.g. ATLAS) be most appropiate?

Many thanks, Alex

Coordinator
Aug 14, 2011 at 11:19 AM

Hi Alex,

I think this would be a great contribution to Math.Net. Math.Net already has a sparse matrix class. However, any of the factorization code in LinearAlgebra/Double/Factorization does not have any special code to treat sparse matrices. You'd want to start by adding sparse factorization classes there. Each factorization class in turn calls an appropriate method in Algorithms/LinearAlgebra. There you could code to call the ARPACK methods.

I think it would be a really good contribution to Math.Net. Let us know how you get on!

Cheers, Jurgen

Oct 30, 2011 at 2:35 AM

Hi Jurgen,

I've recently found some time in my crazy schedule to make an effort at this... The good news is that it doesn't seem too hard in concept. However, I still have a few other things occupying me. I'll try to keep you updated on progress -- will you be available (via this form) for potential questions, can I ask?

Cheers,

Alex

Nov 4, 2011 at 12:44 AM

Any news, folks? I do hope this project is still active. :-)

Coordinator
Nov 4, 2011 at 1:20 AM

Hi Alex,

Just to confirm, yes, the project is active, just moving slowly (see our mainline commit history for recent changes, and our recent releases).

Btw, concerning sparse linear algebra, I'm currently completely reworking the managed sparse implementation (I've discovered some serious issues there), a new fixed release v2.2 will soon be available.

Thanks,